If you have received a moving violation, you may be eligible to complete a driving safety course and have your violation dismissed. However, you will lose that right if you do not provide written notice to the Court on or before your appearance date of your desire to do so. The Court must approve your request prior to you taking the course. The requirements are as follows:
- You must have a valid Texas driver’s license or be a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty. (Commercial License holders may not take driving safety for dismissal of a violation.
- You must provide proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance card) which covered you on the date of the citation.
- Your driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety cannot indicate successful completion of a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course within the twelve months immediately preceding the date of the alleged violation.
- You cannot be in the process of taking a course and have not completed a course that is not yet reflected on your driving record.
- The violation, which you are charged, cannot be for speeding 25 miles an hour or more over the posted speed limit.
- You must pay the Court a non-refundable fee to cover the cost of administering this section. Contact the Court office for fee amount or any further information.
- Click here for the Driving Safety Request Form.
If you were cited for any of the following, you are not eligible to take driving safety:
- Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit
- No insurance or failure to maintain financial responsibility
- Leaving the scene of a collision
- Passing a School Bus
- Cited while driving in a Construction Zone when workers were present
- A violation resulting in a fatality
Failure to complete the driving safety course or providing proof of completion with a certified copy of your driving record within 90 days of your request will violate your Driving Safety Course Order. Failure to comply with any part of the Driving Safety Course Order will result in a $200 fine and a conviction reported on your driving record.
Note: If you have a commercial driver's license you are not eligible to take Driving Safety.