If you have received a moving violation (PDF), you may be eligible for Deferred Disposition and have your violation dismissed.
Deferred Disposition is usually a 90-day probationary period. During that time, you can not receive any other violation (moving or non-moving violations) nor have any charges filed against you by the State of Texas.
The requirements are as follows:
- You must have a valid Texas driver's license. (Commercial License holders may not be placed on deferred disposition for moving violations)
- The violation, which you are charged, cannot be for:
- Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit.
- Passing a School Bus.
- Cited while driving in a Construction Zone when workers were present.
- You must pay the deferral fee of $280 at the time of your request on or before the appearance date assigned.
- Your case will be placed on probation for 90 days.
- If you are under 25, you must complete an approved driving safety course; if you hold a provisional license, you must complete a driving examination by DPS.
Failure to pay your Deferred fine by the appearance date, deferral due date, or receiving a violation during your deferral period will violate your Deferred Disposition Order. Failure to comply with any part of the Deferral Order may result in a fine and a conviction reported on your driving record.
Note: If you have a commercial driver's license and are cited for a moving violation, you are not eligible for Deferred Disposition.