- Municipal Court
- Driving Safety Course
Driving Safety Course
If you have received a moving violation (PDF), you may be eligible to complete a driving safety course and have your violation dismissed. However, you may lose that right if you fail to request the driving safety course by your court appearance.
Do not pay online if you want to select a Driving Safety Course. Must request in person. Do not take the course before signing up with the court.
The requirements are as follows:
- You must have a valid Texas Driver's License or be a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty.
- You must provide proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance card), which lists you as a driver. You must provide a hard copy of the policy up request when the request is made.
- Your driving record, as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety, cannot show successful completion of a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course within the twelve months after the violation date.
- You cannot be in the process of taking a course and have not completed a course that is not yet reflected on your driving record.
- The violation you are charged with cannot be for Speeding 25 or more miles an hour or more over the posted speed limit.
- You must pay the Court a non-refundable Driving Safety Course fine to cover the cost of administering this section. Contact the Court office for the amount or any further information.
If you were cited for any of the following, you are not eligible to take driving safety:
- Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit
- No insurance or failure to maintain financial responsibility
- Leaving the scene of a collision
- Passing a School Bus
- Cited while driving in a Construction Zone when workers were present
Failure to complete the Driving Safety Course or providing proof of completion with a certified copy of your driving record within 90 days of your request will violate your Driving Safety Course Order. Failure to comply with any part of the Driving Safety Course Order may result in a $200 fine and a conviction reported on your driving record.
Note: If you have a commercial driver's license, you are not eligible to take Driving Safety.