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Alvin Police Department Tells Drivers and Passengers to “Click It or Ticket” 
Increased enforcement period runs May 21-June 3, 2018 

 
Alvin, TX – The Memorial Day weekend marks the start of the summer driving season, and to 

help make the summer safer for everyone, Texas law enforcement officers will take part in the 

annual “Click It or Ticket” campaign and increase their efforts from May 21 to June 3 to pull 

over and ticket drivers and passengers who are not buckled up. According to recent crash data 

from the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), more than 900 people were killed last 

year in crashes on Texas roads who weren’t wearing seat belts. 

“We don’t enjoy handing out tickets, but sometimes that’s what it takes for people to get the 

message about the importance of wearing a seat belt day or night, front seat or back,” said Tim 

Hubbard, Operations Captain. “We would much rather give a ticket to unbuckled motorists 

than have to notify their next of kin when they are killed in a crash.” 

Last year, the Texas A&M Transportation Institute found the number of drivers and front seat 

passengers observed in 18 cities not wearing seat belts increased by almost 50 percent from 

day to night. Nighttime is a dangerous time for unbuckled drivers and passengers. In 2017, 57 

percent of all vehicle crashes where occupants died and weren’t wearing a seat belt occurred at 

night (between 6 p.m. and 5:59 a.m.). 

Texas law requires everyone in a vehicle to buckle up or face fines and court costs of up to 

$200. Children younger than 8 years must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless 

they’re taller than 4 feet 9 inches. If they aren’t properly restrained, the driver faces fines of up 

to $250 plus court costs. 

The “Click It or Ticket” enforcement period is a joint effort by TxDOT, the National Highway 

Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the Texas Department of Public Safety and numerous 

city and county law enforcement agencies. 

According to NHTSA, wearing a seat belt is the single most effective thing drivers and 

passengers can do to protect themselves in a crash. Wearing a seat belt reduces the risk of 

dying in a crash by 45 percent in a passenger vehicle, and up to 60 percent in a pickup truck. 
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Seat belts keep people from being thrown around, or worse, ejected from the vehicle in a crash, 

which is almost always deadly.  

NHTSA estimates that the “Click It or Ticket” initiative in Texas has saved 5,473 lives, prevented 

over 95,500 serious injuries and saved more than $20.7 billion in related economic costs from 

2002 through 2017. 

To learn more about “Click It or Ticket,” visit texasclickitorticket.com. 

For media inquiries, contact Capt. Tim Hubbard at thubbard@cityofalvin.com or 281-388-4370. 
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